getting ready to garden

I am a nerd, it is official.  I just ordered a whole bunch of seed for spring planting from Botanical Interests and I am STOKED.  Granted, I ordered way more varieties than I can fit in my little yard, but I don’t care.  I figure the money I save buying seed versus plants will  surely let me get more pots going than I had last year.  If produce prices are as bad as they are predicting, this could be a great investment.

If you are curious, I picked up herbs some herbs (Cilantro, Lemon Balm, Basil, Borage, Oregano, Parsley, Sage, Savory, Sorel, Chervil) to add to the few that I planted last year and I am hoping will return this year (Rosemary, Thyme, Chives (garlic and regular), Sage, and Chocolate Mint).

As far as veggies go, I went for arugula, Contender Beans, Platinum corn, cucumbers, Butter lettuce, lots of peppers (Jalapeno, Hungarian, Sweet, Serano, Thai, Cayenne, Ancho/Pablano, Santaka, Pasilla), zucchini, tomatoes (Cherry, Beefsteak, San Marzano, Brandywine, Red Siberian), eggplant , kohlrabi, and tomatillos. 

Also, when I was checking out I added some cow pots to my cart.  Basically, they are biodegradable seed starter pots made out of dried cow poop.  Very nutritious for the plants and they can be planted directly into the ground when the seeds are ready for outdoor planting.  I just wonder if my house is going to smell like cow pies until then…

I have never ordered from Botanical Interests before, but I liked their pricing on organic and heirloom seed varieties.  I don’t really need 50-100 seeds in a pack which is what I was finding at other retailers like Burpee and Seeds for Change – we just don’t have that much room.  They do have a guarantee on the germination of their seeds.  Also, they do not knowingly buy or sell any GMO seeds.  This is all good stuff in my book.

Now, all I need to do is convince my mom to come and visit when I am about ready to plant.  She is a total green thumb and will help us stock up with everything we need for a successful growing season.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “getting ready to garden

Leave a Reply

