salted chocolate and nut cake bars

In the need of something sweet yesterday, I decided to try these Salted Chocolate and Pecan Cake Bars that were featured on Tasty Kitchen the other day.  I love sweet and salty, and I had all the ingredients on hand… sort of.  I only had about 3/4 cup of pecans, so I substituted the other 1/4 cup with hazelnuts.  I toasted both before chopping them up and adding them to the batter.  I used a mix of 1 cup semi-sweet and 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (Ghiradelli brand).  I did not dust the top with powdered sugar, instead I sprinkled on some more coarse sea salt during the last 15-20 minutes of baking.  These definitely needed a full 50 minutes to bake before a toothpick came out clean.

Making them a second time around, I think I would switch to 100% toasted hazelnuts – we LOVE Nutella in this house.   I would also try switching the ratios of semi-sweet to dark chocolate chips, but I would defintely top with coarse salt again.

These were easy and really tasty.  They reminded me of the chocolate chip cookies my mom used to make, and were a bridge between Sportsglutton’s love of soft, chewy cookies and my love of crispy, saltier cookies.  Thank you Claire, at the Realistic Nutritionist for posting!

One thought on “salted chocolate and nut cake bars

Leave a Reply

