sourdough starter from apple peels

I think it is pretty clear that I like to bake bread and assorted bread products, but for the most part I shy away from sourdough based breads.  Maybe this is blasphemy, but I only like the flavor in certain situations – I would rather have a non-sour loaf hanging around the house.  I didn’t really grow up with sourdough bread, so I will just go with the fact that I may never have acquired a true love and appreciation of the taste. 

So moving on… I did find a recipe for a starter that interested me, mostly because of the process.  You peel four organic apples, add some wheat flour and sugar, let it sit out, and bam sourdough.     I used this recipe from New Scandinavian Cooking for the starter and this recipe for the loaf of bread.

I found the directions a bit limited (even though I had watched the episode) and, if I remember correctly, slightly different from the technique used in the show.  I followed the starter recipe to the T, but in the bread recipe I substituted some bread flour in for some of the wheat flour (I was running low) and used hazelnut oil in place of the rapeseed oil.  I did use more water than was called for as my dough was originally very stiff.

So, did it work?  It did, though it does require more patience than I possess.  I probably should have let the dough rise more, but it had already been rising for 24 hours when I punched it down and shaped it into the baking pans.  Again, I probably should have waited a little longer before popping them in the oven.  Overall they did rise, but were still dense.  The sourdough flavor was definitely present, so if you are a fan give it a try. 

Would I make it again?   I am keeping the starter alive in my fridge for a while longer and plan to try out some other bread recipes of my own.  I will probably use the starter to make a sponge that will sit out overnight to develop flavor, then make a yeast fortified dough with the starter (to hopefully lighten the loaf and increase the rise time).  I think this falls under a cool science experiment-like project for me, so unless I have a kid who needs to learn about naturally occurring yeast and fermentation this recipe will go back to the shelf. 

I’m just not that into sourdough.

7 thoughts on “sourdough starter from apple peels

  1. You are nominated under cooking category, please take some time to
    Vote before July 2, feel free to vote for cooking blogs not included in the list,
    Have fun exploring your peer’s cooking skills/treats,
    Thanks for the time!
    Your submission is pot of gold to us…
    Bless your day….
    xoxox

  2. I watched the same program and I agree the info was a bit limited, do the apple peels break down or do you have to remove the skins ?

    1. Sorry I haven’t replied sooner! The peels did not break down for me. I picked the big pieces out, but left some of the small, really little pieces stay in the bread – I couldn’t really notice them.

  3. Hi – I am so glad to have found your blog. I used the same recipe to make the sourdough starter and it’s on day three now. It does not smell pleasant. Was this true of your starter as well? I don’t know if I should persist or just toss it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

