egg salad

Egg salad can provoke powerful reactions from some folks, even for me and I love egg salad.  There is just something about those pre-packaged egg salad (and tuna) sandwiches that turns me from a lover to a hater.  I know from my very core that they just can’t be good, they must be terrible, a travesty really.  Aside from pre-packaged sandwiches though, egg salad can be sooooo good (as is their cousin dish, deviled eggs).

I was chatting with my bff, the cheese lady, yesterday while she conjured up some egg salad sandwiches for an outdoor concert.  Needless to say, I have been craving egg salad ever since.  I started hard boiling the eggs and just realized that I have no bread… Well, I guess I am off to make some bread – check ya laters.

And I am back. The bread is rising and the eggs are cooling off. It is salad making time!

Again, please forgive the poor photograph quality and color – I only have my camera phone at the moment.

Egg Salad

yields: 2-3 sandwiches, depending on how much filling you use

  • 4 hard-boiled eggs
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 2-3 tbsp mayonnaise
  • fresh herbs, chopped (I used a tsp of thyme and chervil combined)
  • pinch of salt & pepper ( I usually go a little on the salty side if I am using the salad for sandwiches since the bread will mellow out the salt)
  • sprinkle of smoked paprika
  • 4-6 bread slices

Peel the eggs and crumble with your hands, chop with a knife, or mash with a fork to a consistency you prefer.

Add the rest of the ingredients (except for the paprika and bread) and fold/stir gently into the eggs.  If you prefer a very blended and creamy egg salad, then mix vigorously.

Sprinkle the top with paprika and serve in a bowl with crackers and veggies, or spread onto the bread, top with lettuce, tomato, bacon, pickles, or nothing at all.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment